Devotions for June, Entry 29 {perseverance}

It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 1 Corinthians 13:7

Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the yes, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him. James 1:12

20140628-181202-65522669.jpg

This past week has been rough on me, or rather, my sleep schedule. My job as director of summer camp has started and I feel like I’m pulling the weight of two. It seems strange (as summer camp is full time hours, but my hours are heavily limited throughout the year), that my full time schedule is so exhausting, considering I’ve been on a ten year journey to find just that – full time work – within Youth Ministry. (Full time work in general even.) All of this to say, I really couldn’t understand why I was putting so much effort into a job that I had declared I was walking away from come the end of summer. Maybe it’s been the stress of my applying for jobs all over and either hearing absolutely nothing back, or getting rejections time after time.

Although this seems rather depressing to hear at first, I’ve been confident that God will open a door and provide for me – I’ve felt convicted of it! It’s just seemed so far off and under all of the stress of work, it’s seemed like I’ve been in a pipe dream, never to reach the end. But that’s the very beauty of God.

While it may seem like a rough road and one that no one wants to walk down, God has lessons within those paths and roads He leads you down. I can honestly say that my last two jobs have taught me so much about myself and my ability to handle circumstances than what I had known before. It’s this very adventure I’ve been on that has made me who I am today.

But there’s a glimmer… For the first time in a long time, I finally have an interview for a full time job working at a private Christian School. Nothing is set in stone, but could be by July.

I feel like leaving people with encouragement to persevere where you are and take heart! God has a plan for each of us, and sometimes we just can’t see where the paths are taking us. But His plan is far better than our own!

p.s. Pray for Bobby and his interview Monday morning!

One comment on “Devotions for June, Entry 29 {perseverance}

  1. […] 4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. […]

Leave a Reply

