Devotions for June, Entry 25 {anticipation}

For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently. Romans 8:24

20140624-223858-81538930.jpg

I get my hopes up a lot. If there is a glimmer of an opportunity, my mind starts working immediately with ideas for the future. I’ve had people say I get my hopes up too soon, or too high. Sometimes they were right. And I came crashing down when my hopes were dashed.

But other times, the hope I had proved to be substantiated by the positive outcome of the situation. What had been anticipated actually happened. And as a result, I was very pleased! Anticipation is half the fun. What if anticipation didn’t exist? We’d have nothing to look forward to. I think anticipation gives life and hope. It gives energy.

If you don’t get your hopes up for anything, if you don’t allow yourself to anticipate, the good outcome won’t be as sweet. If you go into something with low expectations, you won’t allow yourself to feel the highs either.

God gave us the ability to anticipate. It’s core to our Christian faith. If we weren’t able to anticipate, why would we want to follow Jesus? What would our thoughts about life after this world be?

I don’t apologize or feel shame for getting my hopes up. If you’re like me, you shouldn’t either!

Leave a Reply

