Devotions for June, Entry 18 {grace}

It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 1 Corinthians 13:5

20140617-212038-76838309.jpg

My biggest pet peeve is slow drivers. You want to know how vicious I can be? Once I thought to myself, “the only reason I can think of why people drive exactly the speed limit is simply because they have nothing better to do.” Geez Sarah!

When we get easily angered, it’s usually because something isn’t going our way. There’s a misunderstanding, or miscommunication. Anger is one of the HALT triggers (hungry, angry, lonely, tired) which means it doesn’t lead to good things. Even if the misstep is our fault we still get angry. Sometimes it’s at ourselves.

A while back, I was talking to a coworker and relaying what I thought was important information to them. Instead of a “thank you, that will be helpful” I got an “okay…” in that tone of voice that told me I was wasting their time. Through my professional and clinical experience, I knew the information I was giving was vital and I would have been reprimanded if I hadn’t told my coworker. And yet, I got that response.

I was a little miffed. I didn’t say anything, but I felt angry that my information wasn’t appreciated. And then I remembered a phrase from that week’s sermon – extend grace.

Extend grace.

Who knows what my coworker was going through that day. Maybe it was a bad day. Maybe they were swamped. Maybe they don’t convey appreciation outwardly. I decided to forgive the person right then and there (more on that Friday.)

You know what it did? It made me feel better and it kept me from venting to someone about it. What if we all extended grace instead of complaining about other people? We might actually run out of things to talk about. Or maybe we’d start talking about the right things.

p.s. Why do we call the prayer before meals “grace”?

One comment on “Devotions for June, Entry 18 {grace}

  1. […] it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It […]

Leave a Reply

