Devotions for June, Entry 12 {diligence}

The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied. Proverbs 13:4

Photo-3

I run.

What…?

I am not a runner. At all. And yet.

I’ve been doing Couch to 5K for the past 5 weeks. Thank the Lord for this program. I don’t know what kind of algorithms and testing they did but it works for a lazy person like me! They have you run in gradually increasing increments separated by intervals of walking. And just when you think you’re going to DIE, you’ve finished. Today I ran for 8 minutes straight! Twice! What the.

The reason I’m babbling on about this is because I am not a runner. It is counterintuitive for me. I’ve been diligent about other things, but they come easier for me, like music, or school. Running does not. It probably stems from the fact that I am terrible at sports. I have zero hand eye coordination. When I’ve tried playing tennis, I always hit the ball with the rim! What’s up with that?

So as I was running through my 8 minutes (it was so hard) I was thinking about how unlikely it was that I’ve made it this far. Usually I’ll quit something that’s just a little too hard. They say it takes a month for something to become a habit. I don’t agree. Some things never become a habit. Some things you have to consciously choose to do each time. It’s true that I’ve started to look forward to running, which is a huge change for me, but I still have to DECIDE to do it.

It brought me to the verse about taking up your cross daily. It’s a conscious choice. It takes diligence, it won’t come easily. Why? I don’t know. I guess it’s counterintuitive to us because we’re all self-absorbed. If we put as much work into seeking God as we do other, less important things, what would happen? You might surprise yourself.

p.s. this is so cliche – but if I can run, you can run. Seriously, I’m a lazy couch potato and I have big boobs. And yet, here I am in week 5. I’m still in bewilderment. 

One comment on “Devotions for June, Entry 12 {diligence}

Leave a Reply

