Devotions for June, Entry 3 {artist}

I was appointed from eternity, from the beginning, before the world began. When there were no oceans, I was given birth, when there were no springs abounding with water; before the mountains were settled in place, before the hills, I was given birth, before he made the earth or its fields or any of the dust of the world. I was there when he set the heavens in place, when he marked out the horizon on the face of the deep, when he established the clouds above and fixed securely the fountains of the deep, when he gave the sea its boundary so the waters would not overstep his command, and when he marked out the foundations of the earth. Proverbs 8:24-29

Photo-1

A couple days ago, I tweeted this: “God is an artist, not a manufacturer. You were not formed out of a mold, you were carefully contemplated and crafted into perfection.” It was inspired from reading the scripture above. Problem is, that scripture is not about us. Some say it’s about Jesus. Most say it’s about Wisdom. Oops.

I stand behind my words. They may not be a correct interpretation of the passage, but the imagery struck me in a powerful way. A long time ago I was told (and still believe) that God knew my name before he created the universe. So even though this passage is actually talking about Wisdom, I think it can be borrowed to illustrate the complexity and creativity with which God creates everything.

I used to think I was just a number in God’s list. That I fell under the “saved by grace” umbrella simply because I existed, not because God thought I mattered. Sometimes I still feel that way, and then I read Proverbs 8. And to know that I was created by the same Being that decided where the horizon would go makes me feel like maybe I matter.

If God took the time to create me, I don’t think he decided, just with me, that he’d phone it in.

Or with you! That’s not his character – everything he does is intentional. And he delights in his creation! If he decided where the horizon goes, then I guess he deliberately gave me that freckle on my left earlobe. And my brown hair (with too much gray at 30). And all my other DNA.

God is an artist. And you and I are just some of his masterpieces. You matter to God because he loves you and carefully crafted you into perfection.

p.s. I can’t read “foundations of the earth” without hearing Galadriel’s creepy demon elf queen voice in color negative.

One comment on “Devotions for June, Entry 3 {artist}

Leave a Reply

