Sandy, Sandy’s his name, if you please.

This song has been in my head for 5 days. Thanks to my being obsessed with “Annie” when I was 3, every song lyric is firmly ingrained.

I live on the second floor of an apartment building and this tree hangs out at my balcony. It’s not a very old tree, I can almost wrap my hand around the trunk. The poor thing lost all of its bark during the derecho this summer but it hung on! The wind was so strong at times it bent the tree to the point that it disappeared from view. I hope he makes it through this storm! I’m using the tree as a gauge for the hurricane, which is supposed to hit my area this evening. It’s already raining and winding a lot harder since I took this picture 10 minutes ago.

The tree, with its flailing to and fro, reminds me of the singing bush from The Three Amigos. I can imagine him singing “Jimmy crack corn and I don’t care” outside my door. Maybe I should name him…

I can’t even remember the last time I wrote a blog post. It’s been an odd couple of months. Basically, I feel like my life is moving in slow motion while everyone else is bustling around at super speed. The most significant reason for this is my uncertain future. I still don’t know where my internship is going to be. And I know from experience – see: waiting 9 months to hear if I got accepted at SU – uncertainty drags me down and sucks out my motivation.

I traveled a lot throughout September and October, seeing friends get married, doing a concert gig that took me back and forth, back and forth from DC. I gave up social media until after the election because people are nasty. Oh, and school. School is barely around. I do my best in routine and I don’t have one. My classes meet infrequently, or not at all (online), and I’m not digesting the material well. I went to the national music therapy conference in Chicago a couple weeks ago and was less than thrilled by my first glimpse of the professional look of the field. I felt like a scrooge the whole time, but the outdated atmosphere of the conference doesn’t bode well for our advocacy. The AMTA needs to hire a PR director and a graphic designer STAT!

I got a cold during the conference and then last week I got PLOWED OVER by the flu. It took me 4 days to recover. I’m trying to start a part-time job at Old Navy. Between my traveling, manager problems at the store, being sick, and now this hurricane, I’m still in the training section, despite being hired in August. I can’t wait to start actually working so I can have a ROUTINE.

But hey, it’s a season. I have more time to read the Bible. And watch Netflix. I have a bed to sleep in and food to eat. So I’ll just keep a watchful eye on my friend, the tree. I think I’ll name him Henry. If Henry can survive this, so can I!

 

Leave a Reply

