Liebster Award

Last week my roommate from my Israel trip and my guardian angel, Tobi, nominated me for the Liebster Award. This is what she wrote in her blog:

The German word Liebster (pronounced LEEB-ster) means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcoming.  The Liebster Award is given to upcoming bloggers who have less than 200 followers.

Here are the rules:

1.  Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
2.  Then answer the questions the tagger sent for them, plus create 11 questions for the people they’ve tagged to answer.
3.  Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
4.  Notify the people you have tagged.
5.  No tag backs.
Thanks Tobi for nominating me! What a blessing you are! (she’s sitting next to me, second from the left)
Here are 11 random things about myself:
1. I cannot roll my Rs. This did not deter me from taking spanish for four years.
2. I can wiggle my ears, raise my right eyebrow a la villain with a scheme, and “hook” my upper right lip a la Elvis. Apparently the left side of my brain was given more “useless trick” cells than my right side.
3. These are the musical instruments I (have) play(ed): piano, organ, guitar, clarinet, handbells, xylophone, and various auxillary percussion instruments. I cannot get a sound out of a flute.
4. I almost quit piano on the day my teacher introduced me to a piece with four sharps. I just sat there and refused to play. She called my mom and I got in trouble.
5. When I was really little, I fell running in the church and “killed” one of my baby front teeth. It turned black and stayed that way until it fell out.
6. I have an uncanny ability to memorize things, specifically piano music and song lyrics. I often don’t realize I’ve memorized something until a situation presents itself where I have to perform without music. I was in a production of Joseph… in 6th grade and to this day I can sing all the colors in his coat (“it was red and yellow and blue and gold and…”)
7. I am right handed but rest the pen on my ring finger instead of my middle finger.
8. I have an unusual amount of gray hair for my age, which I attribute entirely to Washington DC traffic.
9. My favorite composer is Brahms and my favorite piece to play is his Intermezzo in A major, op. 118 no. 2.
10. I do not have perfect pitch and am thankful for that!
11. When I was in kindergarten I was a big snotty crybaby mess. My brother would get me on the bus to school and we would sing Beatles songs in between the seats and the window (he sat in front of me) with harmony. That was his way of keeping me calm on the way to school.
Questions from Tobi
1.  What is your greatest fear?
      Being forgotten.
2.  Describe yourself in three words.
      Reliable, snarky, evolving.
3.  What is your favorite passage of Scripture?
      Romans 8: 38-39 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
4.  Name something that’s on your bucket list.
     Go to Paris.
5.  Describe what a perfect day would look like for you.
     Rainy weather, coffee, good conversation with my parents and siblings, and playing with my nieces and nephews.
6.  What is your favorite color?
     Lavender.
7.  Share a brief testimony of how God is working in your life.
     Two years ago God gave me the green light to pursue music therapy. Going back to school and all that it entails has been the hardest season of my life. The uncertainties that go along with grad school (mainly money and my future) have forced me to rely on God continually, which proves to be encouraging and terrifying at the same time.
8.  What is your favorite snack?
     Oh man. Before I cared about my nutrition: Cheezits. After I started caring about my nutrition: pita and garlic hummus.
9.  If you could live anywhere, where would that be?
     London!
10.  Name five things that make you smile.
     My five nieces and nephews.
11.  Why do you write?
     Because sometimes I feel like I’ll go crazy if I keep my thoughts in my head. And I also really really want people to get interested in music therapy.
_____________________________________________
Here are the women I’m nominating!
Ruhiyyih MacBradaigh (no link since her blog is private)
Allie Lovette she might not count because she might have more than 200 followers!
______________________________________________
I know it’s only four! Girlfriends need to step up on the blogging!!
I will keep the questions the same for the people I pick-
1.  What is your greatest fear?
2.  Describe yourself in three words.
3.  What is your favorite passage of Scripture?
4.  Name something that’s on your bucket list.
5.  Describe what a perfect day would look like for you.
6.  What is your favorite color?
7.  Share a brief testimony of how God is working in your life.
8.  What is your favorite snack?
9.  If you could live anywhere, where would that be?
10.  Name five things that make you smile.
11.  Why do you write?
One comment on “Liebster Award

  1. tkbenton says:

    I LOVE this ~ and you! Thanks for playing along and I can’t even choose which thing makes me smile more. I love that your brother sang Beatles songs with you on the bus. You are unforgettable. If we move overseas again, I hope you will visit. I don’t believe you’re snarky for a minute. I love that you were courageous enough to become a Music Therapist and that I get to learn from you here. Love you Sarah!

Leave a Reply

