Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving 🙂 So far the holiday has been pretty quiet. Because my family is big and growing, it’s hard for all of us to get together at once so I’ve seen them in bits and pieces this time. It’s nice to be able to have a good conversation and hear about interesting things going on in a family member’s life without 12 other people interjecting and adding their own story. I love when my whole family is together, I am definitely thankful for them. But I am thankful this year for the small doses.

me with my sister-in-law Becky and my brother Matt

During the holiday season I tend to think back to where I was in life this time last year, two years ago, five years ago, etc. It’s always interesting to see how your life has changed over one year. My life is definitely different this year compared to last year. New town, new friends, new chapter in my young life. I am thankful that God made grad school happen for me. Sometimes, logistically speaking, I can’t believe everything worked out so that I was able to start school in the fall. With prerequisites, moving, financial aid, I’m amazed nothing fell through the cracks.

Warning, I’m about to get sentimental. This year is the first year I can remember where I am starting to long for a family of my own. Even having my own dog would be nice, ha. I’m the only one in my family that doesn’t have a significant other. I think holidays generally cause people to feel this way. It’s funny, I catch myself glancing up at God with an expectant look as if He doesn’t already know my desires. I picture him shaking his head with a knowing smile on his face and a chuckle. I do believe it’s in the cards for me to have my own family someday. He’s got it under control, for which I am thankful. So I’m just trying to trust His timing.

Lastly, I am thankful for the steadfastness of God. I’m thankful that He keeps picking me back up and putting me on the right path when I stray. I’m trying to be content with how He made me. Along with reflection during the holidays, I develop an unhealthy dose of insecurity. Wanting to live up to the expectations of my family and friends, most of whom I don’t see very often. It really eats at me. This year I find myself clinging to God. He couldn’t be more proud. And He’s the one who matters most. My insecurity melts into peace. Psalm 27:14 – “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.”

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

