Music Therapy in a Nutshell

Just kidding 🙂  Often when I tell people I’m going to study music therapy they nod their head in acknowledgement (kind of how people do when you tell them what town you grew up in and they have no idea where it is).  The next thing out of their mouth is most likely “so what is that exactly?”  I explain that it’s the strategic use of music to help rehabilitate and comfort people.  I use the word “strategic” because unstudied music therapy happens all the time.  We all know music affects us.  That’s why movie soundtracks are so important and why mothers sing to their children.  It evokes emotions, brings back memories, and most importantly provides comfort.  A music therapist has been trained to “design” specific music to help the particular person they’re working with in order to help that person.

Like most people I have playlists on my iTunes.  I’m a little OCD about it (like with my gmail – the archive feature is available for a reason! I don’t want 3000 emails sitting in my inbox.)  so I have a playlist for just about every artist I have music for.  I also have some “mood” playlists, which is a pretty common thing.  You know, they’re astericked so they appear at the top of the list.  Instead of naming them “happy”, “sad”, “angry”, I thought I would title them in a unique way.  Some of mine are labeled “Girls Just Want To Have Fun”, “Someday”, and “Holy Spirit Come”.  My favorite playlist I’ve named “I Need a Musical Hug”.  I thought I would share what songs are on this playlist, because I’ve had a rough week, and this playlist has brought comfort to me.

In no particular order (I always put it on shuffle anyway)

February Song – Josh Groban

Sometime in the Morning – The Monkees

This is Home – Switchfoot

Exit Music for a Film (Live) – The Scrolls (from Call + Response soundtrack) (I couldn’t find this version, so I’ve linked the original Radiohead song).

Unwritten (Live) – Natasha Bedingfield (from call + Response soundtrack) (again, couldn’t find this version, here’s the original)

Day Too Soon – Sia

Dream a Little Dream of Me – Cass Elliott (of the Mamas and the Papas)

Take Me Home, Country Roads – John Denver

When She’s Near – Fiction Family

New Day – Robbie Seay Band

Your Love is a Song – Switchfoot

Red Eyes – Switchfoot

Constellations – Jack Johnson

Out of the Woods – Nickel Creek

The Living Sculptures of Pemberley – Dario Marianelli (Pride & Prejudice sountrack)

The Road to Dunmore – Traditional Irish Folk Song (I couldn’t find a youtube video of this one unfortunately)

Sarah – Ray LaMontagne

Sarah Maria – James Taylor

Benediction – Jars of Clay

Pavane – Faure

I See the Light – Mandy Moore/Zachary Levi (Tangled sountrack)

Breathe (2 AM) – Anna Nalick

Have a Little Faith in Me – John Hiatt

What are your comfort songs?

One comment on “Music Therapy in a Nutshell

  1. Diana says:

    Fix You- Coldplay
    None But Jesus- Hillsong
    Basket Case- Sara Bareilles

Leave a Reply

