Because He Lives

There was a guest post on Jason Boyett’s blog a few days ago that I really resonated with.  You can find it here.  The post was about doubt.  One sentence really hit me:

“I surrounded myself with the things of God because I couldn’t figure out how to surround myself with God Himself.”

I tend to do this sometimes.  I surround myself with Christian blogs, sermons, Hillsong, small groups.  Because, as stated above, sometimes I can’t figure out how to surround myself with God Himself.  I suppose there are worse things I could surround myself with.  Nevertheless, there is no substitution for God.

Tonight I played on the worship team at church.  The message was awesome, the music was tight, the congregation was on fire, and the Spirit was really moving.  But I only know this because I could see it in others.  For whatever reason, tonight I wasn’t focused, I wasn’t on the right wavelength.  I believed what I was singing, I was happy to do this ministry, but I was just off.

I’ve felt for a while now that I’ve been dressing up Jesus in my fancy Christianity,  and I’ve covered him up.  I’ve embellished his words.  He’s gone out of focus.

So when I got home, I got my guitar out (which I’m learning to play) and I decided to drag out my good ol’ Methodist hymnal.  I was tired of worship songs, I needed stuff that was older, more potent.  As I flipped through the pages,  a wave of gratitude for my upbringing came over me.  After playing through a few hymns, including a favorite – “It is Well with my Soul” – I turned to “Because He Lives.”

I began to play.  I began to sing.  I began to cry.  And God showed up.

Maybe you’re like me, you’ve been focused on the means of seeking God, instead of actually the seeking.  I encourage you to simplify.  Be still.  Be genuine.  And when the impact of God’s reality and his overwhelming love hits you, do something to remember it.  I actually recorded the song on Garage Band as a reminder of God’s faithfulness.

I won’t share more about my experience tonight, I want it to stay a holy moment between me and God for right now.  But I will leave you with the lyrics from this hymn.

God sent his Son, they called him Jesus;

he came to love, heal, and forgive;

he lived and died to buy my pardon,

an empty grave is there to prove my Savior lives.

Because he lives, I can face tomorrow

because he lives, all fear is gone;

because I know he holds the future,

and life is worth the living just because he lives.

How sweet to hold a newborn baby,

and feel the pride and joy he gives;

but greater still the calm assurance,

this child can face uncertain days

because he lives.

And then one day I’ll cross the river,

I’ll fight life’s final war with pain;

and then as death gives way to victory,

I’ll see the lights of glory and I’ll know he reigns.

Because he lives, I can face tomorow;

because he lives, all fear is gone;

because I know he holds the future,

and life is worth the living just because he lives.

3 comments on “Because He Lives

  1. David Collier says:

    Sarah, that was very enlightening. Thank you for sharing your heart.

    • Katie says:

      I have read this post a couple of times and each time I am very inspired and touched by your sincerity and deep desire to become more like God. You are a great example and I really enjoy reading what you have to say on this blog. The title of the post instantly reminded me of a song I sang in a church choir also entitled “Because He Lives.” If you want to check out the whole song here is the link: http://www.defordmusic.com/becausehelivesduetsatb.pdf.

      Part of the song reads, “because He lives, there is no task so great that I can not endure, I bear no heartache that His tender mercy can not cure, because He lives.”

      If you have a chance, print this out and play it because the piano accompaniment is so beautiful; it makes the words so much more powerful.

      Sorry this is a long post, but you do a very good job at making me think about what God has done for me and what He expects of me. I very much enjoy reading your words.

Leave a Reply

